Duston-Dustin Garrison House
665 Hilldale Avenue ~ Haverhill, Massachusetts
Built and commanded by Thomas Dustin in 1697, this brick fortress was also home to his wife, Hannah Emerson Dustin. She became Haverhill's most famous yet controversial woman after her violent escape from Indian capture. Explore the house they shared with their eight children and six soldiers.
2019 Official Openings ~ 11am-3pm
July 21 August 3, 4, & 18 September 7, 8 & 22 October 5, 6 & 20
Tours & Parking Free. Donations gratefully accepted.
Contact: Diane Dustin Itasaka (978) 430-4506
FB: @DustonDustinGarrisonHouse Instagram: dustondustingarrison
94 Cherry Street, Fall River, Massachusetts
***Jennifer will return as Naomi Wade
for Twelfth Night Stories on January 4th, 2020!***
Open Sundays 1pm-4pm through June 30th
Select Weekends in July & August
Open Sundays 1pm-4pm September & October
To preserve, protect and maintain the Lafayette-Durfee House and to educate the public regarding Fall River’s colonial past. We at the Lafayette-Durfee House feel that the world is a richer place when we give back to the community. At the Lafayette-Durfee House, we strive to preserve our history and educate our citizens in the hope that knowledge of our past will raise the quality of our future.
Samuel Smith Farmstead
The Samuel Smith Farmstead is an outstanding example of a simple colonial-era farmhouse located at 82 Plants Dam Road, East Lyme, CT. The house and barn currently sit on 17 acres of rural land that was part of the original farm. The house is unique in that it has been restored and is being maintained with accuracy to its beginning in 1685, with additions constructed in 1735 and 1812.
The goal of “The Friends of the Samuel Smith House and Property, Inc.” is to maintain, preserve and restore the house and property as a living museum of 17th and 18th century Connecticut farm life.
Leffingwell House Museum
Begun circa 1675, this former tavern is one of the finest restored examples of New England Colonial architecture which shows the architectural development common to CT. Starting as a two room home that evolved into a pre-Revolutionary Tavern. By 1776 it was the elegant home of a Norwich Patriot.
The house is filled with a fascinating assortment of pieces representative of its architectural evolution. Interpreters use displays of artifacts, dating from the founding of Norwich in 1659 through the Civil War, to evoke the lifestyle of early America.
The Museum is open Saturdays,
April through October, 11am-4pm, $5
New London County Historical Society
Founded in 1870, the New London County Historical Society is the oldest historical organization in eastern Connecticut and one of the oldest in the nation.
The Shaw Mansion, built in 1756, has been our headquarters since 1907. We are located near the corner of Bank and Tilley Streets in New London.
And for your reading pleasure...